Galaxy Story

Tales of the Universe

Page 4 of 5

The Earth, together with 8 other planets: Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto, revolve around a star, our Sun, forming what we call our Solar System. Stars and planets are very different: a star is burning and gives out its own light while a planet just reflects the light from its nearby star.

Our Solar System is in its turn part of a much bigger structure: our Milky Way Galaxy. Our Galaxy consists of huge curly arms coming out of a central region, and we lie in one of these arms. Apart from the Solar System, our Galaxy contains billions of stars, dust, planets, and pieces of rock.

Click on the thumbnail below to explore the Milky Way galaxy:

Explore The Milky Way


ESA Science Home page